Google released a new feature that gives teachers more control over when students can join Google Meets. Students will only be able to enter the meeting if you start it first, and they can not re-join the meeting after you have left.
The YouTube video below demonstrates the two ways to accomplish this:
- Add a Google Meet to your Google Classroom Classwork page
- Create and use a nicknamed Google Meet
You can also find step-by-step instructions and another video in this blog post.
- You have to be the last person to leave the meeting. You can remove all participants as the meeting creator.
- There is about a 30 second window of time after you end the Meet that it is still technically active and the students can still rejoin. So if you have any concern that the students may be jumping back on during that small window, you can rejoin after a minute or two to double-check.